september, 2022

03sep9:00 am9:09 amPaula Ehrlich to Appear in Ecumenical Biodiversity Celebration

Event Details

On September 3, 2022, the Half-Earth Project will join a virtual panel, Shemá: Biodiversity, Franciscans, and the Season of Creation.” The event features a discussion with Paula Ehrlich, President & CEO of the E.O. Wilson Biodiversity Foundation and co-founder of the Half-Earth Project, Rosa María Ruiz, a prominent Indigenous environmentalist, defender of Madidi National Park in Bolivia, and Brother Erlison Campos, OFM, a Franciscan friar of the Custody of Saint Benedict of the Amazon, Brazil. Register here.

“In the face of the global biodiversity crisis there is hope. Faith communities, scientists, environmental activists are increasingly working together to safeguard our common home. During the Season of Creation, join in a conversation of the Franciscan-hearted people and learn what we can do to promote the ecological conversation, justice, and healing within the Earth’s community of life.”

The event is part of “The Season of Creation” an annual ecumenical Christian celebration to “listen and respond together to the cry of Creation: the ecumenical family around the world unites to pray and protect our common home.” The Season begins on 1 September, the World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation, and ends on 4 October, the Feast of St. Francis of Assisi, the patron saint of ecology beloved by many Christian denominations.

Dr. Ehrlich recently moderated a panel on the intersection of conservation ethics and faith-based community activism as part of the Half-Earth Project’s Places and Voices of America the Beautiful series, featuring Franciscans ecologists, Gary B. Nabhan and James Lockman, alongside Quaker activist Ruah Swennerfelt.

Details: Sep 3, 2022 (Chicago: 8.00, New York: 9.00, Dublin: 14.00, South Africa: 15.00m, Philippines: 21:00)

Participation is free with advanced registration. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Learn more and register for the webinar at:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_pfXK5YQQS7mF4GSxFjjD9g

 

 

Time

(Saturday) 9:00 am - 9:09 am

Comments are closed.

X